top speed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• top speed

Want to start off on saying im a newbie her. Spoke with a guy online today and told me to check this site so here I am. He we go guys. I bought a 1980 marlin open bow jet boat with a 460 I was told it has some engine work done to it. It has a mild cam electronic ignition. So before i bought the boat it had been sitting for a couple years. The first time I took I out it gps at 52 mph that was last summer. So the time I took it out this year I replaced the 600 cfm holly to a 670 cfm street avenger. So im at the lake now its in the water and runin im at the wheel my buddy is at the carb adjusting while im driving and then he goes to the timing plays with that. As all this is being done I got my gps going and TOP SPEED is 43 mph. I havent done this yet but im thinking of changing the fuel filter im wondering if that would have an impact on the performance. Also my boat has a cover over the engine so the engine compartment is completely closed I opened a section at the front to get some fresh air. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: top speed

Welcome to the site.!!

You will probably get some better advice from someone else later, but for now id say you cant go wrong with a new filter EVER.
    A new filter can't hurt anything so if you got one go for it. If you got one you can see inside it, see what it looks like if it was sitting for a while it could need a few changes. Always start with the easy, & cheaper stuff.

The boat should be getting enough air, since that was how it was built, but again it can't hurt to try giving it more.

What RPM we're you getting before when it ran 52mph.? (and what are spinning now?)

Probably wont fix it overnight.. boats are projects, & there is always something that can be improved.
    Let us know how its coming.. Good Luck

Comment